Do you hate cash shops?

I have noticed an almost political design in the MMO world when it comes to cash shops.  Opinions appear to varie from, “I hate cash shops” to “I love cash shops”.  So my question is, Why do you love/hate cash shops?  Truth be told, I am certainly one of those cash shop haters.  In my opinion I feel that they not only ruin the economy of the ingame but also take away the rewards of earning things through play.  I love the concept of.  I pay a monthly fee for services in game that keep the game safe, secure, and free of bugs.  That provides me with a safe environment that will update content from time to time and I know after paying this fee that the game will continue to be great and stable.  But there are many opinions.

I searched through the Reddit & Lodestone Forums regarding the topic of Fantasia.  Fantasia is an item in game that allows the players to change all appearance including race and gender.  When you play Final Fantasy XIV, and you make it through a month of membership.  They give you one, and only one Fantasia.  But what happens if you change your character and you don’t like the appearance.  Too bad.  You don’t get another.  A lot of players feel that you should suck it up and deal with it.  Accept your mistake and move on if you don’t like the way you look.  Other players felt that you should be able to go ahead and Purchase the option to get a personal Fantasia (Unsellable) so that you can change your appearance further.  A few players that I read over felt that this was bad for the content and would lead to cash shops.  If you haven’t realized yet, Final Fantasy XIV players dislike the idea of Cash Shops in majority.  But I have noticed that Cash Shops either turn players away or pull them in.  Some players enjoy having to earn all of the special cosmetics, and dislike having to pay for those items.  On the flip side, players to games like Mabinogi, TERA, and Guild Wars 2 don’t seem to mind paying for those items.

This is one of the reasons that I personally cannot get into Mabinogi.  My family plays this game, and I’m the “Black Sheep” so to speak.  I can’t stand the game, and get cold chills every time I think about it.  But there is a small something that draws me to play, but then I think again about those cash shops and all the items and I feel like it would be the biggest fattest mistake ever.  I don’t care that other people enjoy them.  In fact, if you enjoy F2P and other cash oriented games then more power to ya.  But Cash Shops aren’t my thing.

Post a comment below and let me know what you think of cash shops, and how it all effects gameplay.

If you would like more information on some of the forums I was following, please follow the link below.

FFXIV Lodestone

 

Leave a Reply

